The Randolph County Solid Waste Authority (RCSWA) is an supervisory organization for all waste collection and disposal in Randolph County, West Virginia. We are not involved in enforcement though we are obligated to notify the proper authorities when disposal laws are broken.

The RCSWA is overseen and follows the policies of the WV State Solid Waste Management Board (WV SWMB). See the West Virginia Solid Waste Management Board website for information on rules, policies, bylaws, disposal of hazardous materials.

According to Chapter 22C, Article 4 of the West Virginia Code, the RCSWA is responsible for a waste hierarchy of:

  1. Source Reduction
  2. Recycling, Reuse and Materials Recovery
  3. Landfilling

Board Members

There are five board members. Members are elected yearly and appointed by different bodies—the Randolph County Commission, Soil Conservation Service (NRCS), Tygart Valley Sanitation, and the City of Elkins.

  • Clark Martin (Chair)
  • Chris See (Treasurer)
  • Tim Hornick
  • Spinner O’Flaherty
  • Russ McClain

The RCSWA holds a public meeting the first Tuesday of every month at 5 pm at the James Cain Courthouse Annex in Elkins, WV. The public is welcome to attend and public comment is accepted. Please enter through the building’s side door nearest the Randolph County Courthouse.